Yes, Google Deletes Gmail Accounts

gabrielle_cc / Pixabay
Google to delete your inactive Gmail accounts.  It is nothing new.

You have seen it making the news round. Google to delete your Gmail account ,but it is not a new policy! You are correct that Google will delete inactive Gmail accounts. According to their policy, if you don’t sign in to your Gmail account for two years (24 months) or longer, Google may consider the account inactive, and be deleted. This policy is in place to help free up usernames and email addresses for other users who might want to use them. This means that if a Gmail user doesn’t sign in to their account for 24 months or longer, their account may be considered inactive and subsequently deleted by Google.

The move aims to free up usernames and email addresses for other users who might want to use them. However, before Google deletes an inactive account, they will send a warning message to the primary email address associated with it, notifying the user that their account is at risk of being deleted.

“Meaning, these accounts are often vulnerable, and once an account is compromised, it can be used for anything from identity theft to a vector for unwanted or even malicious content, like spam,” said Ruth Kricheli, Google’s vice president of product management.

If a user receives such a message but doesn’t want their account to be deleted, they can log in to their account to keep it active and avoid deletion. Additionally, it’s worth noting that Google may also carry out security checks on accounts before deciding to delete them to ensure that unauthorized access to a user’s account isn’t the reason for the inactivity.

However, it’s important to note that before Google deletes an inactive account, they will send you a warning message to the primary email address associated with the account, notifying you that your account is at risk of being deleted. If you receive such a message but don’t want your account deleted, you can log in to your account to keep it active.

While Google does delete inactive Gmail accounts, they will notify you beforehand and give you ample time to keep your account active and avoid deletion.

Tags from the story
More from SW Newsmagazine
The Bachelorette’s Battle of the Giant Teddy Bears
The craziest episode so far involves a giant teddy family, a snake,...
Read More
0 replies on “Yes, Google Deletes Gmail Accounts”